1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to sidebar
Source link: http://archive.mises.org/8458/review-of-google-chrome/

Review of Google Chrome

September 3, 2008 by

Google Chrome is a very impressive release, and I find myself already using it. It strikes the user immediately that this is surely the browser of the future. It seems to rethink the weight and conventional operation of the web browser. It is light as air and fun to use.

It’s not a fair criticism but I do miss my Firefox plugins–I supposed that addons are coming–and the all-important Firefox toolbar feeds, which is the way I browse the web. On the other hand, the phenomenal speed of Chrome makes browsing much less of a chore.

One very real problem I’ve noted though. It does not respond to the fast-view settings of PDF files. It waits for the entire document to load before it displays. This is an annoyance for those who use large PDF files.

In any case, Mises.org looks great on Chrome.

{ 17 comments }

Chris September 3, 2008 at 9:08 am

I agree that Chrome is impressive for a first release. Since it’s an open-source browser, extensions shouldn’t be too far off into the future.

If Google puts effort into this browser, it could be a real winner. They’ve already integrated Search…so it would only be logical to seamlessly integrate the rest of their web services.

Firefox, as much as I love them, should be scrambling around after this announcement.

Manuel Lora September 3, 2008 at 9:08 am

Careful with the license agreement:

“”By submitting, posting or displaying the content you give Google a perpetual, irrevocable, worldwide, royalty-free, and non-exclusive license to reproduce, adapt, modify, translate, publish, publicly perform, publicly display and distribute any content which you submit, post or display on or through, the services. This license is for the sole purpose of enabling Google to display, distribute and promote the services and may be revoked for certain services as defined in the additional terms of those services.”

Sven Thommesen September 3, 2008 at 9:51 am

Following up on Manuel’s comment, here’s a link to a story on the Register about the rights you give to Google when using Chrome. Google wants to own the world, evidently!

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/09/03/google_chrome_eula_sucks/

Speedmaster September 3, 2008 at 10:51 am

I like it so far too, many more reviews and details pouring in today. I posted about it last night.
http://amateureconblog.blogspot.com/2008/09/first-look-at-google-chrome-i-like-it.html

scineram September 3, 2008 at 11:31 am

Sticking to Opera.

Crosbie Fitch September 3, 2008 at 11:35 am

Sven, you give Google no rights. You merely restore some of the freedom they would have had in the first place, but for its suspension by the mercantile privilege of copyright.

I’d supply them with a copyleft license that restores to them the freedoms they require, but at least stipulates that they remain unable to reapply the constraints they seek license from onto others.

Jimmy September 3, 2008 at 4:42 pm

What scares me is that the Internet makes public what was once private. By using a web browser or sending email many people unknowingly are sharing information about themselves with the world. They might as well post their favorite search terms in Time Square.

There is a project called Tor that may help fix this issue, but it sacrifices speed for privacy.

Bill September 3, 2008 at 5:48 pm

Jimmy wrote: “What scares me is that the Internet makes public what was once private. By using a web browser or sending email many people unknowingly are sharing information about themselves with the world. They might as well post their favorite search terms in Time Square.”

That’s why I never, ever use the internet for anything…ever.

Nad September 3, 2008 at 9:14 pm

Now, Manuel’s info and Sven and Jimmy’s remark scared the hell outta me.

Haas September 3, 2008 at 11:53 pm

Ok so they take away all your copyrights- but does it go both ways? it would only be fair if it did…otherwise be careful

Haas September 3, 2008 at 11:59 pm

Actually that article is outdated and I think that section has been changed in the terms and conditions the new section 11 reads:

11. Content license from you

11.1 You retain copyright and any other rights you already hold in Content which you submit, post or display on or through, the Services.

and then section 12 starts

In section 9 it states:

9.4 Other than the limited license set forth in Section 11, Google acknowledges and agrees that it obtains no right, title or interest from you (or your licensors) under these Terms in or to any Content that you submit, post, transmit or display on, or through, the Services, including any intellectual property rights which subsist in that Content (whether those rights happen to be registered or not, and wherever in the world those rights may exist). Unless you have agreed otherwise in writing with Google, you agree that you are responsible for protecting and enforcing those rights and that Google has no obligation to do so on your behalf.

Looks good to me if you worried about copyright issues

Ric September 4, 2008 at 8:25 am

what leaves me surprized is not the matter that they changed the terms……what is disgusting is the first try

Saint Germain September 4, 2008 at 8:28 am

Google Chrome is very fast, but with firefox i can have a lot of extensions… so… i keep my Fierfox.

zygo September 4, 2008 at 9:36 am

I agree that Chrome struggles to open PDFs quickly (or sometimes at all, preferring just to freeze). It was only by googling “Chrome pdf issues” that I found this site!
Speed of launching and opening pages is noticeably better than I am used to and I will probably adopt it as my default browser when the pdf issue is fixed.

chi September 4, 2008 at 5:01 pm

My thoughts, I love the browser. It’s fast and pretty. I see a bright future for it. I’m still a bit peeved over the EULA and really glad the backed down and modified that license to use our writings even to third parties. I do like seeing guys making fun of their quest for world domination.

http://www.surfchrome.com/index.php/gallery/chrometoon-googleville-satire/59-initial-mock-google-cartoons-emerge

John Delano September 7, 2008 at 3:29 pm

It seems to move fast and smooth when it moves, but it has crashed several times on certain sites. I assume they will fix this soon.

Unionbug September 18, 2008 at 9:45 pm

The pdg file issue has prevented me from using it for now – I am back to Firefox – but I agree that overall it is an excellent browser and I will come back once the pdf issue has been resolved and the bookmark organization has been addressed…
>; )

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: